19 yro Coco Gauff Prays After Winning US Open

11 09 2023

Coco Gauff, the 19-year-old tennis player, knelt down in her corner and prayed moments after winning her first grand slam title, the US Open, against world no. 1 Aryna Sabalenka on Saturday, September 9, 2023. The crowds wildly cheered her throughout the game.

During the awards ceremony, the presenter said to her, “We saw you say a prayer, get on your knees, you have a lot of faith. How significant has that been for you on this journey?”

She said, “It’s been so important, I don’t pray for results, I just pray for the strength to give it my all, and whatever happens happens.” It means a lot to me. That French Open defeat was heartbreaking, but I realized that God puts you through tribulations and trials, which makes this moment even sweeter than I could have imagined.”

“I’m so blessed in this life, so I’m just so thankful for this moment, and to be honest, I don’t have any words for it,” she added.

In fact, after becoming the youngest person ever to win the Cincinnati Open in August 2023, she openly declared, “I’d like to thank my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.”

Indeed, she said, “Before every match since I was eight, my father and I have said a prayer together.” She explained that the prayer is not for victory, but rather an expression of gratitude and reliance on God.

Coco Gauff Expresses Her Appreciation; Cincinnati Champion Speech

Coco claims that her faith helps her cope with the pressures of being a young tennis prodigy. She stated in an interview with Stylist that her faith helps her stay positive and focused on her goals.

“I try to stay positive and not let the negative things affect me too much,” she explained. “My faith helps me to stay focused on my goals and what I want to achieve.”

She adds that her faith also helps her to remain grounded and humble.

“I try to stay humble and remember that I’m just a girl from Florida who loves to play tennis,” she explained. “My faith helps me to stay grounded and remember what’s important.”

Coco is, indeed, revealing the secret to her success, and young people would do well to pick up on that. There is ample evidence that those who pray and rely on the protection of a higher power often outperform those who are completely on their own. According to Ryan Bremner, an associate professor of psychology, prayer can foster a sense of connection, whether to a higher power, what a person finds important in life, or their values.

In addition to her devotion to God, Coco has an intense devotion to her family. During the awards, when the reporter asked her if she had anything to say about her family, overwhelmed, Coco, asked for the microphone, and as the reporter handed it to her, she began by telling the crowd of her teeming supporters that this was the first time she had seen her father cry, and turning to her father, she said, “I love you, Dad.”

Her father resigned from his job as a football coach to become her manager, and her mother resigned from her job to homeschool her, and now they are reaping the benefits of their efforts, which is fortunate because the Gauffs have managed to remain a close-knit family and a great source of emotional support for Coco, and have played a significant role in her recent successes. According to studies, athletes with stable families are better able to maintain their sense of balance and stability, which are critical to success.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment